CRC ELECTIONS 2016: New committee members elected

[1 July 2016] - On 30 June 2016, UN Member States at the UN General Assembly in New York elected nine people to the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child. Those selected will replace outgoing members of the 18-strong Committee whose terms expire on 28 February 2017.

Elected by secret ballot, the new members are: 

Amal Salman Aldoseri (Bahrain)
Olga A. Khazova (Russian Federation)
Cephas Lumina (Zambia)
Benyam Dawit Mezmur (Ethiopia)
Mikiko Otani (Japan)
Luis Ernesto Pedernera Reyna (Uruguay)
Ann Marie Skelton (South Africa)
Velina Todorova (Bulgaria)
Renate Winter (Austria)

For more details and the exact number of votes received click here. For more information on each of the candidates, visit CRIN's page of candidate profiles here.

Please note that these reports are hosted by CRIN as a resource for Child Rights campaigners, researchers and other interested parties. Unless otherwise stated, they are not the work of CRIN and their inclusion in our database does not necessarily signify endorsement or agreement with their content by CRIN.