Tanzania, United Republic of

Located in East Africa, Tanzania borders Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique and is home to Africa’s highest mountain, Mount Kilimanjaro. The country was formed through a union of the formerly British ruled Tanganyika and the former Sultanate of Zanzibar. As a result, while there is a single national government headed by a president and elected assembly, there is also a parallel Zanzibari executive with power over local affairs. While human rights standards are generally good for the region, concerns continue about juvenile justice, gender based violence and the effects of poverty on children.

For more information please see the Child Rights Wiki

Quick Facts

4765640070Population2369000034.797005229098Population under 1556295328.2689258945283Number of internet users
152 Human development index133 Happy planet ranking

Organisations in Tanzania, United Republic of

Please select one

Research and Monitoring

CRIN does not accredit or validate any of the organisations listed in our directory. The views and activities of the listed organisations do not necessarily reflect the views or activities of CRIN's coordination team.