Western Sahara

A disputed territory in North Africa, Western Sahara is bordered by Morocco, Mauritania and Algeria. Officially classified as a non-self governing territory, it is currently claimed by Morocco - though this claim is not recognised internationally - and by an independence movement centered around the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic government, who have effective control of around 25 per cent of the country. Human rights abuses during the conflict between these two groups have been intense, including the mas displacement of civilians, killings and collective punishment.

CRIN does not accredit or validate any of the organisations listed in our directory. The views and activities of the listed organisations do not necessarily reflect the views or activities of CRIN's coordination team.