Mayotte [France]

Located between northwestern Madagascar and northeastern Mozambique, Mayotte is geographically a part of the Comoros Islands. The two archipelagos shared the same political status under French rule until 1974, when Mayotte voted to remain a French territory while the Comoros opted for independence. In 2011, Mayotte became a French departement, and is undertaking reforms to fully adopt the French legal system and abandon customary laws it had kept until then. A recent report from the French Ombudsman revealed France's failure to protect more than 3,000 unaccompanied children on the territory of Mayotte.

CRIN does not accredit or validate any of the organisations listed in our directory. The views and activities of the listed organisations do not necessarily reflect the views or activities of CRIN's coordination team.